What I Would Change…

…..about my life if I could.

Honestly there isn’t much. I’ve been really blessed with tons of amazing, great people who have come into my life and, even if they never realized it, impacted my life a lot. My parents, sister, and friends are all incredibly dear to me and even though they piss me off a lot, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’ve gotten to do so many cool things from play soccer to excel in school to go to Austria to live in the quaintest little house you’ve ever seen. I’m lucky to have parents who are who they are, and well, I guess the list could go on and on.

There are really only two things I’d change about my life, and they seem so insignificant to the bigger picture of things, but still.

1) I wish I had been more dedicated to soccer and improving myself earlier.

Don’t get me wrong, I love soccer to death, just playing the game is a blessing when other people have to struggle with so many other serious things. But if I could, I would have actually cared about getting better and being competitive at a younger age, which would have helped me a lot in my high school career.

However, I have seen the good that has come from my lack of soccer skills, at least in comparison to the other girls i know. Honestly it’s humiliated me on more than one occasion, and that’s a good thing. It has given me something to fight for. It has made me realize that just because you aren’t the best at what you do is no reason you should quit (which was also an important lesson to learn when it comes to writing).

2) I wish I had been able to take karate or some type of self-defense class when I was little, or even now.

Honestly, this is something I could still change. When I was little I desperately wanted to take karate like my older cousin, but it was too expensive and my parents couldn’t afford it, and that is probably the only time I was genuinely hurt by my parents financial standing. I’ve always wanted to be someone who can handle herself, to be tough just in case anything goes awry. I’m generally not strong so this would have helped my confidence as well as made me feel like I was capable or whatever.

But other than that, I can’t really see anything to change. Everything I have done-even the bad-has made me who I am. The mistakes I’ve made I’ve (mostly) learned from, and even if they were just plain mistakes that nothing could be learned from and no good could come out of, at least I’ve got a crazy story to tell one day. In fact, I’d go back and relive all the terrible times in return for all the good ones.

Note: Despite the seemingly cliche-ness of this post, this is truly how I feel (even though I’m so stubbornly against cliche’s and such).

And has anyone else noticed how I capitalize some “I’s” but not others? Weird.

Leave a Reply

