Notice

You’ve known me long enough

That you can be assured

I would never notice

What you feel for her

 

No I never notice

Every single reference

Maybe made subconsciously

Or with all-out reverence

 

No I never noticed

How for ages you desired

Half a decade did you burn

In unrequited fire

 

No I do not notice

How deep rivers run

Or how deeply is engrained

fervent, enduring love

 

No I never noticed

How I’m still second best

But flesh and feeling cannot help

The impression in one’s chest

 

No I never notice

that you’re still in love

With a distant and complicated

perfection from above

 

Maybe this oblivion

Isn’t all my own

Maybe you won’t notice

One love will soon be gone.

Leave a Reply

