I’m Such A Bio Nerd-MOM Day 17

https://www.23andme.com/

This is what I want for Christmas. I want my DNA tested.

I got the idea from my AP Biology teacher, who also got her DNA tested, though it was for medical purposes because of the chance of genetic disease in her family or something. She told us about it before, and today she got the program to work on the diabolically slow computer in our classroom.

I find it funny how much we are alike. We’re both very interested in genetics-she even wanted to be a genetic counselor for awhile, and that’s one of the career choices I was considering (if being a molecular geneticist or writer doesn’t work out. Also considering forensics). We both love history and somewhat the same sense of humor. She met her African husband in high school, and dated him even though he was a “loser” and an “idiot”.

When she called him that one day during class, my boyfriend face palmed into his desk because I had just called him that. A lot of the stories she tells about her and her husband are vaguely familiar because it sounds like me and my boyfriend’s relationship. They also broke up (twice) and got back together, which happened to me and my boyfriend.

I’m very excited for next year because I’ll be taking one of her classes-Biotech and Forensics. I’m also hoping to take AP Chem, AP English, Calculus, and German IV. I will want to jump off a cliff if any of these classes conflict and I have to choose between them, which happened last year with AP World History, AP Biology and German IV (I ended up not taking German).

Today was a pretty happy day (except for that 95 I got on a presentation in pop culture, which is an unweighted class that I had a 100 in so now it’s gonna go down), so I’m going to end with a quote about happiness.

“Happiness often sneaks in through a door you didn’t know you left open” (John Barrymore).  

For example, at first I wasn’t going to take AP Biology until my guidance counselor guilted me into it. It became a place where I could hang out with my boyfriend and other friends. It became my favorite class (next to English) and guided me in finding a direction for college and career.

Leave a Reply

