“She shouldn’t have put herself in that position”

According to http://xfinity.comcast.net/articles/sports-tennis/20130619/SWilliams-Steubenville/?cid=hero_media, Serena Williams apologized for her maybe-not-recorded-correctly statements about the rape case in Steubenville, Ohio. Recently she has been quoted in Rolling Stone magazine saying that “What was written – what I supposedly said – is insensitive and hurtful, and I by no means would say or insinuate that she was at all to blame” (comcast.net).

She has retracted her supposed statements and is reaching out to the girls family, and I’m probably ranting about an issue millions of other people are ranting about, but the statements included in the article (whether she actuallly said them or not) from Rolling Stone infuriated me. I’m taking each statement and ranting about why each opinion, which I know some people still believe in, is absolutely repulsive.

“What happened in Steubenville was a real shock for me. I was deeply saddened. For someone to be raped, and at only sixteen, is such a horrible tragedy! For both families involved – that of the rape victim and of the accused” (comcast.net).

What? What’s that last part there? It was a tragedy for the ACCUSED? So you are feeling sorry for the two disgusting vermin who raped her? Because they’re actually getting reprimanded like criminals? In my opinion, which others may not share, rapists are the lowest creatures on the earth. Murder is even better, though torture is probably equal to rape, depending on the severity. But to assault someone’s body in that way is abominable. I wish I had stronger words to use.

I understand that some cases of date rape are not considered as severe because the girl and guy start but then the girl says no in the middle of it and the guy doesn’t stop. But as soon as you say no, the partner is required to stop. There’s no ifs, ands, or buts about it.

“I’m not blaming the girl, but if you’re a 16-year-old and you’re drunk like that, your parents should teach you: Don’t take drinks from other people” (comcast.net).

First of all, if you make this statement, you ARE blaming the girl. I admit I’m conservative and deeply frown upon, for lack of a better term, “liberal” dressing, or disobeying society’s laws such as the drinking age. I’m against the whole teen party scene. But that absolutely does not give anyone the right to assault you. What the hell, how can you even justify that? You look like a slut, act like a slut and are drunk so that means I can rape you? (I apologize for my “strong” language).

“… she shouldn’t have put herself in that position, unless they slipped her something, then that’s different” (comcast.net).

What? WHAT? Okay, I admit, I don’t approve of the situation either. Drunk teens don’t mix well. But this is again blaming the girl’s own actions for the repulsive crimes of two other individuals. This case of rape is no different than if she had been sober or if they had slipped her something.

Note: This rant is not directed toward Serena Williams. I’m not calling her out, saying she was wrong because she has officially retracted her statements. But there are others who might agree with the original printed statements, and I feel the need to express my own opinion against these idiotic ideas. It’s not even an opinion-it’s just wrong.

Thank you if you’ve gotten to this point, meaning you bore through this rant that is only an echo of a million or so other minds who are outraged by cases such as this. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

