Literary Question (Answer Wanted)

Catcher in the Rye is one of my favorite books-we read it in class in 10th grade last year. One of the symbols I was most attracted to was the symbol of the duck pond, which I related to Holden’s fear of growing up, and that no one would advise him on the direction of his life OR someone (a zookeeper) would just come and force him to grow up.

However, my one friend brought out an important point-the New York Central Park Pond doesn’t freeze over in the winter and ducks usually stay in the park year round. So what is the significance of this?

Is it a simple mistake by J. D. Salinger? Was it a purposed twist of reality in order to provide the symbolism of the duck pond?

Or, the most intriguing theory my friend interposed…was Holden lying? If so, why was he lying?

I have been trying to research this, and have come up short. Now I’m reaching out to the WordPress community for answers. If anyone can provide some insight, or give me tools in order to research this further, a comment or message would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

