July 8th, 2013

I’m feeling really unimaginative with my title today.

So far my research has provided nothing for my theory the duck pond in The Catcher in the Rye, in reality, doesn’t freeze over and this is symbolic of a deeper meaning. I mean I know it doesn’t freeze over but that’s as far as I got. Though I did find some literary criticism on Facts on File, Harold Bloom’s database of literary critiques, that related the idea of the duck pond to a Buddhist story and a Zen philosophy, which I found intriguing.

Yeah so I’m probably going with the idea that Salinger twisted reality so the duck pond froze so that it could be symbolic in the story.

I had to take off some time from playing soccer (just a few days) because my hamstring, which I pulled before, started acting up again, but I’m going to try again today. I had a lot of days off from work last week, and did a lot of hanging out with friends and family, and therefore am behind in a lot of housework and such.

We took in a little kitten Saturday night-she’s a gray tabby, about seven weeks old, that was found abandoned by my sister’s friend. Now, we have a German Shepherd, and we tried to introduce them and see if they would get along, but it didn’t work out too well. It’s not that they were mean, but our dog is very territorial, and wouldn’t stop watching the cat. If it went into a corner to hide, our dog (named Demon) would start going after  Sam (that’s what we started calling the kittay). And if he climbed on us Demon would start getting freaky.

They had some altercations, and now the kittay (this is purposed misspelling) will not abscond from the bathroom where we’ve been keeping her to sleep. This is not the way a cat should be kept, so we’re giving her back today. It’s depressing because last night, while sitting in the bathroom with her, she climbed into my lap and fell asleep on me. She purrs like crazy and likes my toes and chasing her tail. So stinking cute.

This is a post part one of two-in the second post I’ll have a poem for you all to read that I was a little hesitant to post but will.

Leave a Reply

