Summer Reading-The Stranger by Albert Camus

For AP English next year, which I am taking, we are required to read The Stranger (L’Etranger) by Albert Camus, and because I’ve been so busy with work, soccer, friends, family and other obligations I’ve started to bring my book with me to work and reading on my half hour lunch breaks.

the stranger cover

First of all, I love this cover.

A main theme or concept of the novel that I’ve already been told our class will be discussing is the idea of existentialism. Now, me being as worldly and knowledgeable as I am (this is sarcasm) I had to look up what this means. Dictionary.com said existentialism is:

1) opposed to rationalism and empiricism, that stresses the individual’s unique position as a self-determining agent responsible for the authenticity of his or her choices

2) a modern philosophical movement stressing the importance of personal experience and responsibility and the demands that they make on the individual, who is seen as a free agent in a deterministic* and  seemingly meaningless universe

*(free choice is an illusion because all events have been predetermined by natural laws)

This makes me curious. So far I’m only up to page 7, and Meursault is just at the old folks home sitting vigil at his mother’s funeral. Not too much information so far, other than plot line. I do not have any real opinions on the book yet, though I think I like the writing style so far.

Posting a reading discussion with myself, depending on how far I get each day and if I have time to blog, could become daily. Check back tomorrow to see if I write anything else about this novel.

3 thoughts on “Summer Reading-The Stranger by Albert Camus

  1. […] Summer Reading-The Stranger by Albert Camus (wiggygirl3.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Mallary says:

    Sounds super interesting! My summer reading book is To Kill a Mockingbird. To be honest, a little less appealing.

Leave a Reply

