My Little Note-A Poem

Authors Note: For some people dealing with serious issues such as depression, suicidal thoughts, or self-harm, this poem may be “triggering”, so some caution is advised. 

I asked the rabbit on the lawn

why don’t you find shelter

instead of standing in the rain?

“To wash away the pain”.

 

I asked my mother on the porch

why’d you start smoking again?

“To make all the stress and pain,

all of it, fade away”.

 

I asked my boyfriend on the couch

why he used the screwdriver

in his own special way?

“To bleed out the pain”.

 

So if they wonder when I’m gone

what went through my mind,

I’ll leave a little note that will simply say

“To kill all the pain”.

Leave a Reply

