Feeling Optimistic

I’ve started “applying” to colleges. By “applying” I mean looking over the applications, glancing in terror at the essays I’m expected to write, and calling it a day. Someone told me that though college essays seem really daunting at first, you just need to read the prompt and, through the course of every day living, you’ll get an idea.

And guess what-it worked! And who knew that discussing how The Stranger resembles Bohemian Rhapsody with my friend at the beach and this blog would help me with my essays! So for all my fellow college-appliers out there, take the advice I was given, and simply relax-it will all come together. You know, just don’t completely procrastinate.

One of my applications has a sort of short answer section. For one question, you have to pick a novel and explain why you would be excited to discuss that book with a classmate if accepted. That’s where The Stranger and all its intrigue comes in. Personally, I think it’s creative my friend and I (well, mostly me) connected The Stranger to Bohemian Rhapsody, so I figure that is worth mentioning.

Another question for the same college asks each applicant to recount a time when they stood up against something that angered them. Since I’m somewhat afraid of direct confrontation, I thought I would never be able to recall such an event. However, don’t I rant all the time on this blog? That certainly demonstrates me expressing outrage over something and attempting to spread my opinion into the online community.

I mean…right? One of the reasons I’m throwing this out there is to see if one of you takes the time to comment and tell me my ideas are terrible (or good. That would be nice).

Thankfully I’ve got quite some time before these applications have to be finalized, though I wanted to get a nice jump on things. After September 9th, I’ll be swamped between schoolwork and soccer until early November, so expect fewer blog posts around that time.

I probably won’t go Early Decision on any school-even if it would give me an extra advantage. I’m too indecisive and if a college won’t accept me in Regular Decision, I will use my talents elsewhere (insert sassy snap here).

There are quite a few colleges I’m planning on applying to. Johns Hopkins University is probably my top choice, though Dartmouth, Wake Forest University, and University of Rochester are close behind. Of course, there’s that dream of going to Princeton, so I might as well apply there too. I’ll also be applying to some in-state places such as TCNJ and Rutgers. I’m additionally considering Gettysburg College, University of Pittsburgh, and Arcadia.

Hmm so I’ve still got some cutting back to do. All in good time I suppose.

Leave a Reply

