My Inspiration

Lately I’ve been struggling a lot. I’ve had no confidence in myself and have begun to really hate myself because I feel quite incapable as a human being. Furthermore, I see so much more evil in the world and have unfortunately turned pessimistic. In fact, the song “My Eyes” from Dr. Horrble’s Sing-Along Blog has become my mantra.

 

Last night, however, I saw a rare ray of light shining through my television set in the form of Malala Yousafzai. I was watching the Daily Show, and she appeared for an interview with Jon Stewart. This girl is simply amazing, and her beautiful comment about what she would do if  Taliban came to kill her was reminiscent of what one could expect from peace leaders like Ghandi or Martin Luther King, Jr.

Malala showed me there is certainly good left in the world. Like, i want to personally write her a letter conveying how she has helped me. Whenever I am feeling hopelessness, I will try to remember how simply beautiful this young girl is, and how she represents all the goodness of humanity-a goodness I wish to brandish in my own life.

I also listened to some RENT songs that also served as some supplemental inspiration to Malala’s insightful comments. The title song “Rent” is how I’ve been feeling a lot too-how can I leave the past behind when it keeps finding ways to get to my heart? How can I connect in an age where strangers, landlords, lovers, your own blood cells betray? Granted, I am blessed beyond belief, so I don’t know if I deserve to sing this song.

However, they say at the end, “When they act tough you call their bluff”.

I like that idea.

Finally, the song “Another Day”, but specifically Mimi’s part, discusses living in the moment. Leaving regrets behind to find love.  “Give in to love or live in fear”.  Not much else to say other than listen to it.

I am really tired of wasting my life being miserable. Everything feels overwhelming right now, but I’m going to do my best to figure things out.

Leave a Reply

