New Year’s Goals

Instead of making a single New Year’s Resolution, I like to make a list of goals for the new year.

1) Read 25 books by the end of the year. That gives me a span of about 2 books a month, but I like the number 25 better than 24 (for some reason).

2) Visit 12 of the places from my book 1,000 Places To See Before You Die. I got it for Christmas and the idea of attempting to complete this massive list completely enthralls me. I’ve been to a few already, which is pretty cool.

3) Get a job .

4)  Maintain all A’s.

5) Continue to blog and write regularly.

6) Memorize Hamlet’s To Be or Not To Be soliloquy, both the more popular Folio version and the First Quarto version. I personally don’t like the Second Quarto one, so I’m choosing not to memorize that one.

7) Hold an end-of-school-year and/or end-of-summer camp out with my closest friends in my backyard.

8) Go to Wildwood with my friends over the summer-without parents. My mom already said she might allow this, because we have a family friend who has a house there, but in the quieter area of town. My friends and I are all goody-two-shoes and responsible so this doesn’t worry me too much.

9) Exercise at least 5 times a week.

10) Learn to straighten my hair. Yes, I am a high school senior who does not know how to straighten her hair. I’ve never really cared about it, my hair is naturally pretty straight or I just put it up in a ponytail, and my mom was always willing to do it for me on the rare occasions I wanted to straighten it.

11) Upload all my pictures from my camera and start actually using it. If I only I could find that cord…

So those are the not-so-deep goals for the year, and most of them are quantitative. Now for the most important goal.

12) Be happy.

This includes learning to live with the depression I’ve been dealing with.  It also includes doing what I want to do, not what people expect of me. This means not being afraid to do activities or new things simply because I’m afraid of what other people will think of me. It means I start to learn about what I personally want from life, and work from there.

Happy 2014 everyone!

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Goals

  1. […] this novel does not count as one my 25 books of 2014 (because I had already read half of it before Christmas break), I am very pleased I had the chance […]

  2. […] We’ve reached page 365 of 365; the end of another year. Before I draft an overly ambitious goal list for 2015, I’d like to take some time to revisit the goals I set for 2014. […]

Leave a Reply

